5 comments on “Accepting Cancer – Part 2 Living in the Moment

  1. I missed this post when you first published it, and what a shame! I think this is great – probably because that’s how I’m doing life, too. My blog isn’t a breast cancer blog. It’s a “my life” blog. Cancer is part of it, but my life consists of much, much more. Yes, fears pop up, and sadness, but also (ahem) tarantulas and accomplishing a feat of knitting that has escaped my grasp these last 57 years. So yeah, go for it – as far I’m concerned, you’re on the right track!

  2. Yapcab, I have two comments that are minimally pertinent (but I hope they’re thought provoking for you anyways). 1) You should absolutely watch the move “The Peaceful Warrior”. It is a beautiful moment and when you’re questioning what it means to live in the moment, this movie describes it in the most beautiful, profound way that will definitely resonate with you. 2) New England is absolutely beautiful this time of year. I’ve actually never seen Autumn look quite as beautiful as it does this year. The leaves are all turning color and it’s cool and crisp – not unbearably cold, but definitely cool enough to be poetic. If you and your wife are looking for something beautiful to behold, leaf peeping may just be it.

    • Thanks, I’ll check out the flick!

      Odd you’d mention leaf peeping. Last year we went on a leaf peeping cruise and I was thinking this year maybe we’d fly in somewhere. I’d love to get some better shots than I did last year. With my mother-in-law’s recent death and the need to work through estate issues, that doesn’t seem in the cards this year. Maybe next year. Great suggestion, though, and thanks for thinking of me.

  3. ‘Living in the moment’ is not easy to do because it requires a number of beliefs to be released, and a total surrender of your willingness to predict the future. As fearful humans, we feel that if we predict, we can plan and avert danger, so we do this constantly. If you think about it, all of life is set up this way. We study for the future, we plan our retirement, we buy insurance….its all fear-based living. When we accept that we are not in control of anything, only then can we surrender our will. Peace starts to infuse us when we realize that the elusive something that beats our hearts, breathes us and thinks us, actually controls the events of our lives. At first its frightening, but when the truth of it becomes clear, we collapse into the peace of it. ‘Live in the moment’ is easy for people to say, but it takes a process to get to it.

    • I like your characterization of what it means to live in the moment. As I’ve thought about this more, I seriously doubt I’ll ever be able to fully live in the moment. I have too many personal traits that are in direct opposition. I may talk about them in a future post. There’s still this problem for me that I don’t know what to do to live in the moment. I do have ways to try to be or pretend to be happy. I’m now sure that’s not the same thing. Living in the moment isn’t necessarily a happy thing.

      Right now, for me, truly living in the moment would mean dealing with lots of sad feelings that are appropriately in the present. I need some good or ok times at the moment, especially trying to deal with the change in meds.

      I suspect at some point I’m going to decide this post isn’t quite right. It would be convenient if a minor rewrite would fix it, but that’s not my current intuition.

Leave a Reply

