14 comments on “Scans and It Gets Real

  1. So sorry you’re going through this. It happens to me, too. The last time I had scans they found a progression. You’d think that once you know you’re Stage IV that would be that, but it’s not. Each progression is bad.

    I truly hope this will just be routine and you’ll not show any new mets.

    • Sorry for you as well. It helps me to know that I’m not the only one, though. This really hit hard. I thought I was so far along towards acceptance. Now I feel like I’m just starting.

  2. I prefer to ignore the numbers and fevers and count on the scans 😉 denial seems to ease the anxiety. I’m just kidding. Seriously, may you get the best news possible. Sending you positive light your way.

  3. I think it’s wonderful that you are consciously choosing what you would like to do or what makes sense to you in this given situation. Many times patients with complicated medical problems seem to just hand over the reins 100% to the medical doctors, which winds up with the patients feeling even more helpless.

    • I hadn’t thought about it that way, but you’re right that I’m trying to take as much control as I can. That’s not unusual for me. What is unusual is my coming up against something really important to me, like death, where I have so little control – and ultimately none. The only thing I can really control is how I think about it and how I react. That’s a lot harder to do than I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

