19 comments on “Unwelcome News

  1. I am so very sorry about this latest development. My heart goes out to you and I wish I had a magic wand I could wave to change things. I don’t know if it’s any comfort, but I do keep you in my thoughts and prayers. I pray that you will have more ‘normal’ and that there will be relief from anxiety, whether it comes from xanax or other methods. I also pray that if you have to go through the extra hormone treatment it will be effective and give you much more time. I know you guys like to go on a lot of trips, I hope you have a some good ones coming up.

    • Thank you so much. Your comments and concern mean a lot to me and really help.

      We do have some fun travel coming up. A cruise from Venice to Barcelona. We’re really looking forward to it and hoping the Lupron doesn’t mess with it too much.

  2. Just a note to say I’m reading and digesting this and thinking of you. Today my son and I were at the oncology clinic where he had his treatments so many years ago, as a baby, and it brought back a lot of memories of that time. Testing, treatments, reports, medications, fevers, infections, reactions, transfusions, etc. etc. etc. So grateful that he is cancer free, but still dealing with some late effects (cognitive, learning problems, hearing loss, balance, anxiety, stress) The emotional side is so often overlooked. Thank you for courageously sharing your journey and the ups and downs. Hoping that your ups will be sweeter than ever. When will you be traveling?

    • Thanks for thinking of me. I’m sorry you and your child had to go thru the cancer experience. It’s so unfortunate that our society downplays anxiety and depression so much. They are very real and can be totally debilitating.

      Our next trip starts at the end of the month. We begin in Venice and end in Barcelona. Montenegro, other ports on Italy and Sicily, and a stop in Monaco are on the itinerary.

  3. Hang in there buddy. Here in Hong Kong, they definitely underemphasize what used to be called “tranquilizers” such as Xanax and they definitely and by American standards overemphasize painkillers. It’s pretty much a wash since one can become addicted to Morphine or its new synthetic sister Fentanyl and bpth are psychoactive in that they dull brain response down from “oh ow ouch” to “aaaah no pain”.

    I’m more in agreement with the non-US view. It gives the patient a right to a pain free existence but leaves the patient to use his or her pain freedom to reconcile with family and take care of business without much of a chemical aid.

    • Hadn’t thought of substituting pain meds. Interesting idea. I’ll ask my doc about it.

      Thanks for taking time to respond. You hang in there too!

  4. Aghhh! So sorry about the bad news. Hope you are able to stay in the moment and that you have enough good moments to sustain you. Sounds like the cruise will help. Breathe some sea air for me! I never get to travel so I’ll be living vicariously through your pictures.

    • About all I can say is my situation is what it is. I try and largely succeed at staying in the moment. That helps a lot.

      Sorry to hear you don’t get to travel. It’s very good for the soul. Hopefully your circumstances will change and you can start traveling soon.

    • Yea, it’s a drag, but I don’t really have much choice.

      I’m glad that you’re not posting any bump ups in your PSA. Stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

