22 comments on “He is shaken, round and round

  1. Hey Jim, it takes a special kind of person to deal with all this and, as you say, remain positive and enjoy most days. You have been a great support to me and many others with your posts and comments. I feel woefully inadequate in returning the kindness. I too have dealt with “lack of warmth” from practitioners. Makes you wonder where their heads are at. Wishing you the best of everything in the days, months and years ahead. Cheers, Phil

    • I look at it this way, when you have cancer some bad things are going to happen to you and then some time after that you’re going to die. I accept this view of cancer as absolute truth.

      The time has come for me to have the bad things happen. On balance I feel pretty lucky, I got paralysis below the waist. I still have the use of my arms, all my senses, especially sight, are intact, and I can still think and communicate normally. In my book I’m way ahead of this game. I’ll just adapt to this paralysis and be happy it’s all I have to adapt to – at the moment.

  2. Jim, my brother has stage 4 Prostate Cancer. He has had it for two and a half years now. When I got the news I looked on line and found your postings. I just want you to know that there are people out here praying for you and are very thankful for your sharing of each episode as you face it. It has been a great help to me. Thank you so much. Clara

    • I am sorry your brother is afflicted by this disease. Maybe you can get your brother to read the blogs here. Just check the responses to my posts to find the other blog members in our informal group. We have a close knit group. It’s unlike many others, people really get into the decisions they’re facing, things that are happening, and how it affects them emotionally. We all feel better and become more knowledgeable as a result. We’d love another member.

      It’s nice to know there are people out there who are praying for me and are thankful for my posts. I’m glad the posts have been a help for you. It makes me very happy to hear that. Take care. Jim

  3. Thank you Jim! You are an amazing man and friend. That neurologist is an ass. Stay strong my dear. We love you.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Louise Park MacMillan

    >

  4. *Cough* *Splutter* He said what?! Where exactly are you supposed to go when this crap happens? That guy needs to get out of his brain and into his heart. Anyway, you are remarkably composed in the face of the new obstacles. I’m pulling for you!

  5. Hey Jim,

    Thanks for the update. Glad to see that you’re handling things in your typical fashion–positive attitude with a healthy dose of reality thrown in. We may not control what happens to us, but we can control how we react to it (most of the time).

    Thanks for inspiring us all.

    Dan

  6. I have been away from my computer for a couple of weeks myself so am just now catching up. I am sending my prayers and wishes for you to make that 2020 goal and have peace from side-effects of treatments (other than the “side” effect of tumors disappearing!

  7. Hi Jim, I am so sad to read your latest news and sorry that I have not responded earlier. Your blog has always been an inspiration to me especially as we appear to be on a parallel journey. I had a small slip a week ago while getting out of the bath. The next 3 days I had intense pain in my hips back and radiating down both legs. Thankfully it has eased now and I can still walk ok. However the writing is on the wall in big letters. Like you, I will continue to make the best of every day. I am not afraid of death. I hate how this disease affects my family and my real friends. God bless you Jim, I hope we both see 2020 , and that with our faculties more or less intact!

  8. These verses may be more appropriate to the situation:

    Bless the Lord, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name.
    Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits:
    Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases;
    Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies;
    Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

    Psalm 103:1-5

    You’re in our prayers.

    Brian

Leave a comment